Emergency: 412-833-7500,
724-941-7500, or 911


The Volunteer Fire Department is staffed by professionally trained and dedicated people who give up their free time to provide fire protection to the Township. The fire fighters are not paid for the thousands of hours they spend each year in various tasks from fighting fires, to training and fire prevention, to maintaining their fire trucks.

Two-thirds of the force, including the chief and president, are required to reside in Upper St. Clair. The volunteers come from a variety of professions, including carpenters, contractors, students, bricklayers, attorneys, chefs, mechanics and branch managers.

The volunteers train continually in the areas of hazardous materials, rescue and fire fighting techniques. In addition to time spent responding to calls and training, many hours are spent maintaining the equipment so that it is always ready for the next call. Time is also spent cleaning and maintaining the two fire stations and conducting fire prevention programs and tours of the station.

On average, each one of the members spends approximately 10 to 15 hours per week performing various duties such as training, fire prevention, truck maintenance, record keeping and cleaning in addition to responding to emergency calls.

The USC Volunteer Fire Department leadership is divided into three categories.
They are as follows:

USCVFD Line Officers
Line Officers Photo: From Left to Right:
Mike Gannon- 2nd Captain; Ray Tomnay- 2nd Assistant Chief; Drew Gerlach- Deputy Chief; Steve Moore- Chief; Greg Gerlach- 1st Assistant Chief; Mike Moore- 1st Captain; Josh O'Connor - Lieutenant
2014 Line Officers
Chief (284-Chief)Steve Moore
Deputy Chief (284-Deputy)Drew Gerlach
1stAssistant Chief (284-Assistant 1)Greg Gerlach
2ndAssistant Chief (284-Assistant 2)Ray Tomnay
1stCaptain (284-Captain 1)Mike Moore
2ndCaptain (284-Captain 2)Mike Gannon
Lieutenant (284-Lieutenant)Josh O'Connor
LogisticsDoug Heckman
Fire Prevention CoordinatorRuss Rauch
2014 Administrative Officers
PresidentJerry Kopach Jr.
Vice PresidentDan Barr
SecretaryRuss Rauch
TreasurerJoe Pascarella
2014 Board of Directors
Chairman of the BoardDave Ickes
Vice Chairman of the BoardBrad Childs
Board of Director MemberJerry Kopach Jr.
Board of Director MemberSteve Moore
Board of Director MemberJosh O'Connor
Active Members
Dan Barr
Tyler Beeler
Brad Childs
Mark Chlebowski
Craig DeRoss
Alan Epler
Dan Ferguson
Mike Gannon
Drew Gerlach
Greg Gerlach
Steve Henk
Dave Ickes
Dave Kish
Mark Krzywicki
Tony Messina
Mike Moore
Steve Moore
Josh O'Connor
C.J. Pascarella
Ryan Walsh
Eric Wharton
Gary Salerno
Ray Tomnay
Jesse Welling
Life Members
Douglas DennigDon DeleoJohn Doebler
Tom EdkinsDon GerlachDave Kropp
Jerry KopachJohn LekseBill Neill
Russ Rauch
Associate Members
Douglas HeckmanLorissa JaroshJoe Pascarella
Honorary Members
*William Berster
*Neil Blodgett
*Patrick O'Brien Robert Thomson
*Douglas Watkins

* denoted deceased